

Professor Xiang ZHANG

Biography

Professor Xiang ZHANG is the inaugural Ernest S. Kuh Endowed Chair Professor at UC Berkeley and the Director of Nano-scale Science and Engineering Center (SINAM). He also served as the Director of Materials Science Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL).

Professor Zhang is an elected member of US National Academy of Engineering (NAE), Academia Sinica, foreign member of Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Fellow of four scientific societies: APS (The American Physical Society), OSA (The Optical Society of America), AAAS (The American Association for the Advancement of Science), and SPIE (The International Society of Optical Engineering).

Professor Zhang received PhD from UC Berkeley (1996) and MS from University of Minnesota and MS/BS from Nanjing University, China. He was an assistant professor at Pennsylvania State University (1996-1999), and associate professor and full professor at UCLA (1999-2004) prior to joining Berkeley faculty in 2004.

Professor Zhang's current research focuses on materials physics, metamaterials and nano-photonics. He has published over 320 journal papers including 70 publications in *Science* and *Nature family series*. He has given over 320 Keynote, Plenary and Invited talks at international conferences and institutions. He served as a Co-Chair of NSF Nanoscale Science and Engineering Annual Grantee Conferences in 2004 and 2005, and past Chair of Academic Advisory Board for Research Center for Applied Science (RCAS), Academia Sinica.

In 2008, Professor Zhang's research has been selected by *Time Magazine* as one of "*Top Ten Scientific Discoveries of the Year*" and "50 Best Inventions of the Year", Discover Magazine's "*Top 100 Science Stories*" in 2007, and R&D Magazine's top 25 the Most Innovative Products of 2006. His research was frequently featured by international media including BBC, CNN, ABC, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal.

Professor Zhang is a recipient of NSF CAREER Award (1997); SME Dell K. Allen Outstanding Young Engineer Award (1998) and ONR Young Investigator Award (1999). He was awarded Chancellor's Professorship by UC Berkeley (2004-2009), Rohsenow Lecturer at MIT (2009) and William Reynolds Lecturer at Stanford (2012), and in 2017, Pearsall Distinguished Lecture at Duke, Hall Engineering Lecture at Vanderbilt, and Towers Distinguished Lecturer at Michigan Tech. In 2011, he was awarded Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship by Materials Research Society (MRS), Miller Professorship by UC Berkeley, and Distinguished Visiting Scientist (DVS) by the University of Toronto. He was awarded Fitzroy Medal in 2014, Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award in 2015, Max Born Award from Optical Society of America in 2016, the Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics in 2016, Excellence Award in Scientific Leadership in 2016, and A. C. Eringen Medal from Society of Engineering Science in 2017.